Liga AFA fixtures announced; Newell’s start against Banfield

Liga AFA fixtures announced; Newell’s start against Banfield

After a very short break, the Argentine football season returns on the weekend of the 3rd/4th/5th of June with Newell’s away to Banfield

AFA has announced a full fixture list for the upcoming Liga Profesional de Fútbol with Newell’s Old Boys starting the campaign away to Javier Sanguinetti’s former side Banfield on Saturday 4th of June.

The highlight game of the season, the Clásico Rosarino, will take place on Wednesday 20th of July at the Gigante de Arroyito, despite four out of five previous Clásicos having already been staged at that stadium. The next Clásico was expected to be a home game for Newell’s at the Estadio Marcelo Bielsa, but AFA have once again decided to make it a home fixture for Rosario Central.

In a press conference on Thursday, Javier Sanguinetti said that Newell’s would “win again at the Gigante”, referring to the 0-1 win over Central in March 2022.

Newell’s Old Boys’ first home game of the season will be against San Lorenzo on the weekend of 12th of June while La Lepra will finish the campaign in late October away to Barracas Central. The league will finish before the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

The league will see 28 teams play each other once with the same teams that competed in the 2022 Copa de la Liga involved again. Here is the full list of Newell’s Old Boys fixtures for the upcoming Liga Profesional de Fútbol:

  • Saturday 4 June 2022: Banfield (A)
  • w/e 12 June 2022: San Lorenzo (H)
  • Wednesday 15 June 2022: Talleres (A)
  • w/e 19 June 2022: Argentinos Juniors (H)
  • w/e 26 June 2022: Estudiantes (A)
  • w/e 03 July 2022: Patronato (H)
  • w/e 10 July 2022: Platense (A)
  • w/e 17 July 2022: Racing (H)
  • Wednesday 20 July 2022: Rosario Central (A)
  • w/e 24 July 2022: Defensa y Justicia (H)
  • w/e 31 July 2022: Atlético Tucumán (A)
  • w/e 7 August 2022: Colón (H)
  • w/e 14 August 2022: River Plate (A)
  • Wednesday 17 August 2022: Lanús (H)
  • w/e 21 August 2022: Huracán (A)
  • w/e 28 August 2022: Godoy Cruz (H)
  • w/e 04 September 2022: Vélez (A)
  • w/e 11 September 2022: Gimnasia (H)
  • Wednesday 14 September 2022: Aldosivi (A)
  • w/e 18 September 2022: Sarmiento (H)
  • w/e 25 September 2022: Independiente (A)
  • w/e 02 October 2022: Unión (A)
  • Wednesday 05 October: Arsenal (H)
  • w/e 09 October 2022: Central Córdoba (SdeE) (A)
  • Wednesday 12 October 2022: Tigre (H)
  • w/e 16 October 2022: Boca Juniors (H)
  • w/e 23 October 2022: Barracas Central
%d bloggers like this: